A flexible docs-and-databases workspace with a strong free tier, where the AI now drives the pricing and support lags far behind the product.
By Brand Verdicts research deskLast updated October 2026Software
C+
6.9/10
Quality8.2
Value7.4
Service5.4
Policies6.8
Transparency6.6
CONSIDER
Scores at a glance
Why C+: The editor and databases are excellent and the free plan is usable, but full AI sits behind the Business tier, credits add a second meter, and support is slow and mostly in-app.
Criterion
Score /10
Weight
Product quality
8.2
30%
Value
7.4
25%
Customer service
5.4
15%
Returns & policies
6.8
15%
Transparency
6.6
15%
Overall
6.9
derived
Overall is the weighted mean of the five rows, adjusted by a small slug-seeded offset so that brands never line up in a false staircase, and capped at 9.8. Full working on the Methodology page (v2.1).
What the research shows
Plus lists at $10 per member a month and Business at $20 on annual billing; the pricing page says yearly billing saves up to 20 percent.
Plus includes only a trial of Notion AI. Notion Agent, AI Meeting Notes and Enterprise Search arrive with Business, so the AI pitch on the homepage is really a Business pitch.
Custom Agents are free to try, then cost $10 per 1,000 monthly Notion credits, a usage meter that sits on top of the seat price.
Refunds are full, not pro-rated, if you downgrade within three days of a monthly invoice or 30 days of an annual one; the help page says this applies “in most cases”.
Trustpilot shows a “Poor” 2.2 from a few hundred reviews, and the profile notes Notion has not replied to negative reviews; the App Store rating is far higher.
The product line
Notion is a San Francisco software company whose main product is a workspace that combines documents, wikis, task boards and databases in one editor. It runs in the browser and as apps for macOS, Windows, iOS and Android. Four plans are sold per member: Free, Plus, Business and Enterprise. Free suits one person and caps file uploads at 5 MB with seven days of page history. Paid tiers lift those limits and add guests, longer history, private teamspaces and single sign-on. Since 2025 the company has leaned hard into AI: Notion Agent, meeting notes and enterprise search are bundled from Business up, while Custom Agents and Workers draw on prepaid credits. Notion Calendar comes free with any account. The buyer is anyone from a student keeping notes to a company replacing its intranet.
Product by product
6 items. Each chip is a per-product call and can differ from the brand verdict.
Free plan BUY
The free tier is unusually generous for a single person: unlimited pages and blocks for an individual, Notion Calendar, basic forms and sites, and up to 10 external guests. The limits are the ones that matter for teams, not solo use. File uploads stop at 5 MB, page history covers seven days, and once a workspace has two or more members a block limit applies, after which you cannot add new content. AI is a trial only. Anyone keeping personal notes, a reading list or a small project tracker can stay here indefinitely without paying.
StrengthUsable indefinitely for one person, with no card needed
WeaknessBlock limit bites as soon as a second member joins
Lists at $10 per member a month on annual billing. Plus removes the upload cap (files up to roughly 5 GB each), extends page history to 30 days, allows unlimited guests and charts, and adds custom forms and sites plus basic connections to Slack and Google Drive. The pricing FAQ says it is free for students and educators on a one-member workspace, which is worth claiming. The catch is AI: Plus gets the same trial as Free, so the agents advertised across the homepage are not included. Buying through the iOS app costs more, with Plus yearly listed at $119.99 there.
StrengthRemoves every limit a small team will hit first
Lists at $20 per member a month on annual billing and is the tier Notion labels “Recommended”. It adds Notion Agent, AI Meeting Notes, Enterprise Search (in beta), SAML single sign-on, private teamspaces, granular database permissions and 90 days of page history. For a team that wants the AI, this is the entry point, and the price doubles Plus to get there. The pricing page does not spell out usage caps on the bundled agent, and Custom Agents still need credits on top. Good value if the AI replaces a separate meeting-notes or search tool; poor value if it does not.
StrengthFull AI, SSO and private teamspaces in one tier
WeaknessDoubles the Plus seat price, and credits can still be extra
Priced by sales. Enterprise adds zero data retention with the AI model providers, SCIM user provisioning, audit logs, SIEM and data-loss-prevention connections, domain management, unlimited page history and a customer success manager. The zero-retention clause is the item that matters for regulated companies, because on lower tiers business content passes to outside AI providers under standard terms. Notion’s published customer logos lean towards large tech firms. Without a public price it is impossible to compare value, and the premium support it unlocks is listed only as “Custom”, so get the support terms in writing.
StrengthZero data retention with AI providers and audit logs
WeaknessNo published price and support terms set case by case
Custom Agents are automations that run on their own inside a workspace, such as triaging a support inbox into a database. They are free to try, then billed at $10 per 1,000 monthly Notion credits; Workers, a beta feature, also draw on credits. The refund page says unused purchased credits can be refunded, but once any part is spent the rest are not eligible. Several recent Trustpilot reviewers call the arrangement misleading because a paid seat does not cover it. Until the cost of a typical agent run is documented clearly, most teams should wait.
StrengthUseful for repetitive inbox and database triage
WeaknessA second, usage-based bill with unclear cost per task
A calendar app that connects several Google calendars in one view and links events to Notion pages, so a meeting can open its agenda document directly. It is included on the Free plan, which makes it one of the few no-cost extras in the range, and it runs on desktop and mobile. It works best for people already living in Notion; anyone who does not use Notion pages gets a tidy calendar client and little more. It is not a replacement for a scheduling tool, since booking pages and payments are outside its scope.
StrengthFree, clean, and links events to Notion pages
Digital only; web, desktop and mobile apps are free to download
Returns
Full refund on downgrade within 3 days (monthly) or 30 days (annual) of invoice, “in most cases”
Warranty / guarantee
Not stated
Support
In-app help button and email; no phone; premium support only on custom plans
Payment options
Card online or Google Pay; App Store purchases refunded by Apple
Subscription / cancellation
Monthly or yearly per member; downgrades keep paid features until period end
Values are short phrases taken from the brand's own pages at the time of the last update. "Not stated" means the desk could not find the policy in writing.
Watch-outs
AI is the headline on the homepage, but Free and Plus only get a trial; full Notion AI starts at Business, and Custom Agents add credit charges on top of seats.
Outside the three-day and 30-day windows there is no pro-rated refund, and Trustpilot reviewers describe being refused credit for unused months after downgrading an annual plan.
Support runs through an in-app button and email. A recent Trustpilot reviewer on a business plan reported one to three days per email reply and no live chat.
On plans below Enterprise there is no zero-data-retention commitment with the AI providers, which matters if workspaces hold client or personal data.
Review themes
The two big review sources disagree sharply. The App Store listing sits at 4.8 from tens of thousands of ratings, with Editors’ Choice praise and reviewers calling the calendar views and free tier excellent; the complaints there are about the learning curve, weak offline use, slow performance on older iPads and messy PDF export.
Trustpilot, a smaller and angrier sample, shows a “Poor” 2.2, with one-star reviews the largest group. The recurring themes are billing (charges after a trial or account deletion, refunds refused), AI credits that cost extra on top of a paid plan, slow email-only support, and pages that freeze or fail to load. Notion has not replied to negative reviews there. The pattern reads as a product people like using and a company that is hard to reach when money goes wrong.
Alternatives
Coda
Pick this if you build doc-based tools with formulas and want only document makers to need paid seats.
Obsidian
Pick this if you want local Markdown files, full offline use and no AI upsell in your notes app.
Confluence
Pick this if your team already runs on Jira and needs a wiki with mature permissions and audit features.
Our call
Notion is still the most flexible way to run notes, wikis and lightweight databases in one place, and the free plan is good enough that individuals rarely need to pay. Teams should look harder. The AI that sells the product sits in Business, credits add a second bill, and the support channel is a help button with slow email behind it. Start on Free or Plus, use the 30-day annual refund window as your trial, and move up only if the AI earns its seat price. Verdict: CONSIDER.
Read notion.com pricing page, plan comparison and FAQ in October 2026 for prices, limits, AI inclusion and credit charges.
Read Notion’s refund policy help page in October 2026 for the three-day and 30-day windows and credit refunds.
Read the Notion App Store listing in October 2026 for the rating, in-app prices and recent review themes.
Read the Trustpilot profile for notion.so in October 2026, including one-star and most-recent reviews.
Checked October 2026 third-party pricing guides only to confirm which billing period the listed seat prices refer to.
Desk research only: the brand's own site and support pages plus published customer reviews. Nothing was purchased or tested by this site. Scored under Methodology v2.1.
Spotted an error or a changed policy? Tell the desk. Outbound links go through /go/ and may earn a commission if an affiliate programme is joined; see the disclosure.