Brand Verdicts Methodology

Skillshare Verdict (2026)

A large, cheap-per-class library of creative video lessons that suits hobbyists, undermined by a trial that converts straight into a full annual charge and a no-refund renewal rule.

C
6.3/10
Quality7.3
Value7.1
Service5.9
Policies4.6
Transparency5.8
CONSIDER

Scorecard

Why C: The catalogue is broad and the class-project format works, but uneven teaching, a trial that bills a whole year on day eight and no refunds on renewals hold it to a C.

CriterionScore /10Weight
Product quality7.330%
Value7.125%
Customer service5.915%
Returns & policies4.615%
Transparency5.815%
Overall6.3derived

Overall is the weighted mean of the five rows, adjusted by a small slug-seeded offset so that brands never line up in a false staircase, and capped at 9.8. Full working on the Methodology page (v2.1).

Main findings

  1. The web membership lists at $13.99 a month, but that is the annual plan expressed monthly: the pricing page states an annual payment of $167.88 USD.
  2. The 7-day free trial rolls into the annual plan, and the FAQ says you will be billed for the year in full when it ends.
  3. Renewals are never refunded. A charge after a 7-day trial can be refunded only if you contact support within 48 hours and have not used the service since.
  4. The homepage claims 30k+ classes from 9k+ teachers; anyone with a published class can teach, so depth and production quality vary widely between classes.
  5. Trustpilot shows a 4.0 'Great' rating, yet the 1-star share is large and nearly all of it concerns renewal charges rather than the classes.

Range overview

Skillshare is a New York company, founded in 2010, that sells one subscription to an on-demand library of video classes. The emphasis is creative: illustration, Procreate, watercolour, graphic and UI design, animation, photography, film and creative writing, with a smaller freelance, marketing and productivity shelf. Classes are short to medium length and most end with a class project that members post to a gallery. Membership adds Learning Paths, offline viewing in the apps, and certificates and badges. There is no free tier; the hook is a 7-day trial. Around the subscription sits the Skillshare Shop, where teachers sell paid 1-on-1 video sessions and downloadable digital products such as brushes and planners. A separate Skillshare for Teams plan targets companies. It suits self-directed hobbyists and early-career creatives, not people who need an accredited credential.

Line-by-line verdicts

6 items. Each chip is a per-product call and can differ from the brand verdict.

Annual Premium membership CONSIDER

The only plan sold on the web: unlimited classes, offline downloads in the iOS and Android apps, Learning Paths and no ads. It lists at $13.99 a month, which the small print converts to an annual payment of $167.88 USD charged up front. Pick a dozen classes before you subscribe and check the teacher, the runtime and the project; the homepage shows Brent Eviston’s beginner drawing class and Lisa Bardot’s Procreate class with tens of thousands of students each, but thin filler sits beside them. A monthly option exists only as an in-app purchase through Apple or Google, at a noticeably higher effective rate.

StrengthLow cost per class for anyone who finishes several a month
WeaknessPaid as one annual lump; renewals are never refunded
Check at Skillshare

7-day free trial CONSIDER

The homepage headline is “Get 7 free days of Skillshare”, and the FAQ beneath it explains the catch: when the trial ends an annual membership begins and you are billed for the year in full. The refund page allows a one-time refund of that first charge only if you contact support within 48 hours and have not used Skillshare since. Charges after longer partner trials (14 days or more) are not refundable at all. Used deliberately, with a calendar reminder for day six, the trial is a fair way to sample the catalogue. Used casually, it is the single biggest source of complaints.

StrengthA full week of unrestricted access to judge the library
WeaknessConverts to a full-year charge, with a 48-hour refund window
Check at Skillshare

Learning Paths and certificates CONSIDER

Included with membership, Learning Paths string several classes into a sequence on a theme such as digital illustration or video editing, and the pricing page now lists certificates and badges among the benefits. For a hobbyist this structure helps; the open catalogue can feel aimless without it. Be clear about what the certificate is, though. It records completion on Skillshare and carries no university or industry accreditation, so it will not do the job a Google or IBM certificate on Coursera does on a CV. Treat it as motivation rather than proof of skill.

StrengthGives structure to a catalogue that is otherwise a browse
WeaknessCertificates are completion records with no outside accreditation
Check at Skillshare

Skillshare for Teams CONSIDER

Priced on the Teams pricing page at $159 USD per user, per year, on an annual contract with no monthly option. Admins get reporting, analytics and seat management, and members get the same catalogue with casting and offline playback. The contract terms are strict: you cannot lower the seat count mid-contract, though you can reassign seats and add new ones pro rata, and the account owner’s email must occupy a seat. The standard consumer refund policy does not apply; team refunds follow the contract. Good for a design or marketing team; a poor fit for engineering upskilling.

StrengthCheaper per seat than a consumer annual plan
WeaknessSeats cannot be reduced until the annual contract ends
Check at Skillshare

1-on-1 Sessions CONSIDER

Sold through the Skillshare Shop, these are private video calls with individual teachers, who set their own length, availability and price, so check the listing before booking. You do not need a membership to buy one. The refund page lets you cancel or reschedule up to four hours before the start using the link in the confirmation email, and disputes must be emailed within 48 hours of the scheduled start. For a specific portfolio or Procreate problem, a session with a teacher whose class you already liked can be worth more than another month of videos. Quality depends entirely on the individual.

StrengthDirect feedback from a teacher whose style you already know
WeaknessPricing and quality vary by teacher; short dispute window
Check at Skillshare

Digital products SKIP

Teachers sell downloads in the Shop: Procreate brush sets, colour palettes, printable planners and ebooks. Some are good companions to a class you are already taking. The policy is the problem. Skillshare’s refund page states that digital products are non-refundable and cannot be returned or cancelled, with review considered only in extraordinary cases such as fraud or clear misrepresentation, and only if you email within 48 hours of purchase. With no way to preview most files properly, that is a lot of trust to extend to an individual seller. Buy only from teachers whose classes you have finished.

StrengthUseful add-ons from teachers whose classes you already follow
WeaknessNon-refundable, with a 48-hour window even for misrepresentation
Check at Skillshare

Policies at a glance

ShippingDigital only; web, iOS and Android apps, offline downloads in the apps
ReturnsNo refunds on renewals; post-trial charge refundable within 48 hours if unused
Warranty / guaranteeNot stated; EU and UK buyers get a 14-day statutory cooling-off period
SupportHelp center ticket form and help@skillshare.com email; no phone line found
Payment optionsCard on the web; SEPA direct debit in Europe; Apple and Google in-app
Subscription / cancellationAnnual, billed in full; renewal reminder about 30 days before; cancel on the web

Values are short phrases taken from the brand's own pages at the time of the last update. "Not stated" means the desk could not find the policy in writing.

Caveats

  • The trial converts into a full year at once. The refund window for that charge is 48 hours, and only if you have not watched anything since it posted.
  • Renewals are never refunded. Trustpilot reviewers repeatedly say they missed or did not receive the reminder email; Skillshare’s replies cite the reminder and decline.
  • Subscriptions bought through Apple or Google cannot be cancelled or refunded by Skillshare, and deleting the app does not cancel them.
  • Teaching quality is uneven because anyone with a published class can teach; sample a class before relying on a path built around it.

The customer record

Trustpilot shows a 4.0 'Great' score at the time of reading, but the distribution is split: most reviews are 5-star and a large minority are 1-star, with little in between. The positive side praises the range of creative classes, the projects that make you apply a technique immediately, and individual support agents who sorted out a problem quickly; a few describe a one-time refund granted as an exception.

The 1-star side is almost entirely about money. Reviewers describe annual renewals they did not expect, reminder emails that landed in spam, trials that billed a full year, and requests refused under the no-refund-on-renewal rule. Skillshare answers nearly every negative review, usually restating the policy. The App Store listing carries a 4.8 average, where complaints focus on app features, casting and class organisation rather than billing.

Compare against

Domestika

Pick this if you prefer buying individual creative courses outright to paying for a subscription you might forget.

Coursera

Pick this if you need a certificate an employer will recognise rather than a creative hobby.

Udemy

Pick this if you want one specific software or technical course and lifetime access to it.

Our call

Skillshare’s library is better than its reputation for a creative hobbyist who will actually watch a class a week; at the annual rate that is cheap tuition. The business model works against casual users. The trial bills a full year, the refund window for that is 48 hours, and renewals are final. Subscribe on purpose, set two calendar reminders, and buy on the web rather than in an app. Verdict: CONSIDER.

Brand verdict: CONSIDER 6.3/10, grade C.

Check at Skillshare

Desk notes

  • Read skillshare.com homepage, the pricing page and its FAQ in October 2026 for the annual price, trial wording and inclusions.
  • Read the Skillshare help center refund policy in October 2026, including trial, renewal, EU and UK, SEPA, Shop and Teams terms.
  • Read the Skillshare for Teams pricing page in October 2026 for the per-seat price and contract rules.
  • Read the Trustpilot profile for skillshare.com, most recent reviews first, and the SmartCustomer (formerly Sitejabber) listing, October 2026.

Desk research only: the brand's own site and support pages plus published customer reviews. Nothing was purchased or tested by this site. Scored under Methodology v2.1.

Spotted an error or a changed policy? Tell the desk. Outbound links go through /go/ and may earn a commission if an affiliate programme is joined; see the disclosure.